Molecular

I held my chest, putting pressure on the excruciating pain. Heart beating in seconds made into a million years of pure ecstasy. Lights were my escape, but not this time. As I looked for something to clench onto, dirt and rocks scattered on the floor I pulled my knees closer in. Electricity of the town filled the inner corners of the space between us, because nothing could pull us together except our own judgements. Here though I was safe. I could breathe in and out again without wondering when everything was going to end. I was free, but foolishly chained to the notions of love. I laughed, and he followed. I held my chest once more anticipating hurt, chemicals connecting like the veins recognized on the outside of my hand, but all I found were gentle words telling me “you are alive”

Leave a Reply

