To New York City – May 25th, 2016

This is it. I’m on my way to New York City, and suddenly past hurt and people are gone. Suddenly everything evil, and horrible has left my mind only to be replaced by my heart pulsing in repeated beats, beating over and over. It feels like I have a distant relative I haven’t seen in years on the other side of this road. I don’t know what to anticipate, or what to think. Will I fall in love? Will I want to be here five years from now? My questions are in the hands of time right now, and time is a powerful thing.

Dear, New York City I haven’t met you yet, but I’m about to in a couple of hours and to be honest I’m more nervous than I should be. A year ago I wanted to be here with someone, but today I am here with my best friend who has made all the broken hearts mend themselves through slow but gradual gestures of kind love to me. Dear New York City, I’ve been lost, I’ve been broken, I’ve been confused, I’ve felt dead stricken for days, I’ve been unable to speak some words of truth that have been told to me, I’ve been happier than I thought I could be with my friends, I’ve been built up as if I were the sky and heavens to someone just to realize they became the stars to me, and I was nothing more than an option. I’ve been mistreated, I’ve been blamed, and I’ve taken fault for my mistakes. I have felt all of these wretched feelings this broken world must show us in one way or the other, but still after the cities I’ve created of people I love have been destroyed, I still have hope. I have hope things will get better. I have hope that New York City will be the place I can see a part of myself no one else can give me. That no one else can inspire, or fuel with the pain they’ve left me. I’ve been waiting five years to meet you, to meet the love of my life. Even though every day felt like a year, I am here to say you are the reason I dream. The reason I have a reason to even dream. I haven’t met you yet, but I have a lot to say to you it’s insane. Get ready for me NY, because I’m here to stay. I’m here to change the world, even when people pull me down, when it seems like impossible, when it seems like I won’t get to where I want to be, I will.

I visit you today as a dream, but it will be much more than that. With God, walking alongside my every move, everything is possible.

Leave a Reply

