What to Do When Love Disappoints Us

"Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow, it empties today of its strength"

Disappointment can really be a sickness. It can consume you, it can ruin your joy, and if you let it fester it can eat you away. I constantly think of how many times I have been disappointed when I encounter a new opportunity or a new challenge in my life, but it shouldn't be that way. I am one step closer every day to learning how to take control of my feelings, my emotions, and my fears. You may think it is only you dealing with a let down, or someone who didn't follow through, but the truth is we've ALL been there. Being let down hurts. Being lied to stings every single time it happens to us.

However, our worries and our anxieties are normal. They are there to remind us that we aren't these perfect people who have their life all figured out. I will sometimes have those days where I believe everything is figured out. That I have the answers to everything, but in reality I do not in the slightest bit. Just because I'm dealing with anxiety and someone else is not does not mean I am weaker or less than them. Just because I get anxious about things someone else isn't anxious about doesn't make me different. Everyone has their own worries, their own stresses, their own hurt that they don't speak about to anyone. Learning to control fears and worries can feel overwhelming, and quite impossible at times. I have come to know that I cannot do anything, or try to overcome any problem in my life without God though.

God has been the one who propels me to keep reaching for what I want. The one who I can lay all of my anxieties on when they are too big for me to carry. Even on the days when I do not "feel" joy I thank him for letting me breathe, and for being with me through every trial I have faced because this world can often become too much for me. I worry often about the smallest things I have done in my past, and I come to a point where I regret and blame myself for every consequence. I put blame on myself, maybe too much. That is when I look for him the most. It is in these times where I take my blame and I pray for clarity and peace. You can either run your life, or it can ruin you. We must try to keep the good parts of us through every disappointment. We must try to find the bright side of our disasters in order to survive.

The three things we must keep in mind when dealing with disappointment:

  1. Disappointment reminds us that if someone can't be there for us, at least we can learn how to be there for others.
  2. Learn to listen to what others have to say. Treat others the way you would like to be treated.
  3. You may never know exactly why things happen, and the answers might not come as soon as you'd like them to, but you can take it to God, and try to let go of the things you cannot understand to make room for better things happening in your life in the present moment.

I came across a verse a couple weeks ago as I tried to understand the constant  disappointment happening in my life. I was mad at myself for being the way that I am. I was wondering, "Am I too nice?" "should I have a tougher attitude?" Will that keep people from using me, and deceiving me? If I am a cold distant, person? Then I read this, and it eased my worry and made me realize the world needs as much love as it can receive. That as much as I can I must remind myself that MY LOVE AND KINDNESS IS NOT A WEAKNESS BUT A STRENGTH. That is is good to CARE. There is no such thing as "TOO MUCH CARING" who ever says that is a wrong. Love should not be strange. Kindness should not be strange, or feel strange to someone.

If it is, there is more problems they are facing that have nothing to do with you. So I will leave with this,

"Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." Philippians 4:5-7

Till next time, love ya'll.

 

2 thoughts on “What to Do When Love Disappoints Us

  1. This is special I don’t know you but it’s crazy how writings like this can relate and fit into your life perfectly unexpected I feel better this morning cause of you.thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

